Official Columbus Clippers Tumblr

The Official Tumblr of the 2010 & 2011 Triple-A National Champions

Posts tagged news

0 notes

2012 International League Hall of Fame Inductees

The International League announced today that former pitcher Dave Eiland, former manager Bill Evers, and current club executive Mike Tamburro will be inducted into the circuit’s Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2012. The three men comprise the second Class elected to the IL Hall by a vote of current Hall of Fame members, longtime executives, broadcasters, and members of the media. Members of the Class of 2012 have been added to the International League Hall of Fame plaque display. The inductees will be presented with “The Curtain Call” statue during individual enshrinement ceremonies to take place during the coming season. The IL Hall of Fame plaque display does not have a permanent home, but rather serves as a traveling testament to the storied legacy of the International League.

Dave Eiland was arguably the most accomplished hurler in the League during the 1990’s, leading the circuit in wins, strikeouts, and complete games. A member of three Governors’ Cup champion clubs, Eiland posted a career mark of 82-42 with a 3.44 ERA with Columbus, Charlotte, and Durham. In 2007 Eiland was the pitching coach for the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees before serving in the same capacity for the New York Yankees from 2008 to 2010. He is currently the pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals.

During one of Eiland’s seasons in Columbus and all three years he played in Durham, his manager was fellow inductee Bill Evers. Evers is the winningest manager in Durham Bulls history. His clubs made six playoff appearances between 1998 and 2004, sweeping their way to a pair of Governors’ Cup championships along the way. A two-time member of the International League All-Star coaching staff, Evers left the Bulls in 2006 to join the Tampa Bay Rays field staff. He is currently the field coordinator for the organization.

Rounding out the Class of 2012 is one of the League’s longest-tenured executives. Mike Tamburro joined the Pawtucket Red Sox in 1977 as General Manager. He spearheaded the turnaround from a struggling organization to one of Minor League Baseball’s model franchises. Tamburro, who was appointed to his current title of President in 1985, has been honored a record five times as the International League Executive of the Year. He has also been a leading force in Minor League Baseball, serving as a member and former Chairman of the industry’s Board of Trustees.

The IL Hall of Fame, established in 1947, was dormant from 1964 until the League’s 125th Anniversary season in 2008. Following a three-year transition period (2008-10) in which a total of 50 individuals were inducted after having been selected by a committee, the Class of 2012 was the second chosen by what will continue to serve as the annual election process. Each year the top three vote-getters who also receive a vote on the majority of ballots returned will be elected.

Complete statistical data and biographical information on all 107 members of the IL Hall of Fame, along with a copy of the International League Hall of Fame policies, procedures, and guidelines are available at

Filed under International League Hall of Fame news press release baseball minor leagues triple-a

0 notes

 2012 Clippers Staff Announced


COLUMBUS ‐‐ Clippers President & GM Ken Schnacke today announced that Manager Mike Sarbaugh will return in 2012 for his third season leading the Clippers. “We are extremely happy to have Mike returning to Columbus. The past two seasons under his leadership, our team has gone “back-to-back” winning consecutive International League Governors’ Cup and Triple-A National Championship Trophies. Mike has overseen a wealth of young Indians talent and he and his staff have helped prepare them to perform at the major league level. We are also proud that Mike was honored in 2010 as Baseball America’s “Best International League Managerial Prospect” and was honored this past season as the International League Manager of the Year.”

Sarbaugh’s record at the helm of the Clippers is 167-121,  a .580 winning percentage.

In his eight seasons as a manager in the Indians organization, Sarbaugh has won a championship at every level and five in total.  His overall managerial record is 622-442 (.585).  The Shillington, PA native has a playoff record of 14-3 (.824) with the Clippers and 34-10 (.773) in his career.

Pitching Coach Ruben Niebla will return for his second season. “Ruben did a great job with our pitching staff last year, handling all the movement back and forth between Cleveland and Columbus” Schnacke added. “Our staff had it lowest ERA (3.94) since the 1992 season and our staff set a new franchise record for strikeouts in a season (1,142)”.

We are very pleased that Ruben will return to the Clippers in 2012.

New this season will be hitting instructor Phil Clark, promoted from the Indians affiliate in Kinston. He replaces Lee May, Jr., who has left the organization to join the Seattle Mariners.  “Phil Clark has been to Columbus a few times in our first two seasons, so he knows the facility and all the amenities he will have to work with. He has a strong resume and as a member of the organization will be familiar with many of the young position players who have advanced to Columbus.  The organization is happy to have him and Columbus is excited that he will be joining us in 2012” adds Schnacke.

Also returning to the Columbus staff for their third seasons will be strength & conditioning coach Todd Kubacki and athletic trainer Michael Salazar.  It is the fourth season in the Indians organization for both men.  Kubacki graduated from Youngstown State in 2007 with a degree in Health Education.  Salazar graduated from Manchester College (IN) in 1998 with a degree in Athletic Training and received his Masters in Health Education from UAB in 2000.

Filed under columbus clippers cleveland indians Mike Sarbaugh Phil Clark Ruben Niebla Michael Salazar Todd Kubacki coaches baseball news